Blender Update: May 2, 2015 (Updated with new pictures)

I guess this is overdue, too. By putting something on the web it provides an encouragement (goad) to make more productive my sessions. Now, I have an incentive to actually make progress on my project(s) and can rely on you, gentle readers, to keep me honest.

My current project involves modeling my workstation, the desk I sit at while playing reindeer games. I haven’t gotten very far, but my time is broken between the project and skills practice based on the recent videos I have watched. Most of these are one offs that I don’t even save, just a trial to demonstrate understanding of concept. (Sometimes there are MANY needed to understand….)

One of the ideas gleaned from reading Rework was the article “Ignore the details early on.” Most of the previous attempts at modeling something was to take a piece and spend as much time as needed to get it perfect, then move to the next piece. It has been hard to keep up the momentum and interest in the whole project when it took so long to build each minuscule piece. So here is a “bigger picture” image of my desk project. It’s early in the process, and there is many hours still ahead, but already I can relate to the wisdom of starting with fuzzy glasses on at the start. It allows me to work on a piece at random, when the impulse strikes, and can leave partial progress in relative comfort.

blender image of my desktop, early in modeling process

blender image of my desktop, early in modeling process

better sample of the current state of the desktop model

better sample of the current state of the desktop model

Even better update. Did work on bookcase and monitors tonight.

Even better update. Did work on bookcase and monitors tonight.

Check back later to see the path this project takes.

Phred

post 60 of n

Leave a Reply

